Delete a resource group
Updated at:
Delete a resource group that you no longer need. The default resource group cannot be deleted.
Prerequisites
Before you delete a resource group, make sure that it contains no resources. If it does, you must release the resources or transfer them to another resource group. For more information, see Manually transfer resources between resource groups.Procedure
- Log on to the Resource Management console.
- In the navigation pane on the left, click Resource Groups.
- On the Resource Groups page, click the name of the target resource group.
- Click the Settings tab, and then click Delete Resource Group.
- In the Delete Resource Group dialog box, click OK.
Warning After a resource group is deleted, it cannot be recovered. Proceed with caution.
Result
After you submit the deletion request, the system checks for resources in the group. The check takes 3 days. During this period, the status of the resource group is Deleting....
- For a resource group in the Deleting... state, the system renames its display name. The naming convention is
<Original display name>-<Resource group ID>-<Deletion time>. For example, if the original display name isTestGroupand the group is deleted on 2021-08-12, the new display name isTestGroup-rg-aekzcobqwwj****-20210812. - If the system finds resources in a resource group that is in the Deleting... state, the deletion fails and the display name reverts to the original. If the original name is already in use, the temporary name is retained. You must remove the resources from the group and then try again.
- A resource group in the Deleting... state does not count against your resource group quota.
Is this page helpful?