Publish a workbook

Updated at:

This topic describes how to save, save and publish, restore, unpublish, and republish a workbook.

Prerequisites

You have created a workbook in the Quick BI console. For more information, see Create a workbook.

Background information

In earlier versions, workbooks are automatically published after they are saved. Users may view intermediate versions that are generated as developers save modifications to the workbooks. To improve user experience, the save feature is separated from the publish feature, and the unpublish and republish features are added.

Save a workbook

The save feature saves modifications to a workbook but does not publish the workbook.

If you save a workbook but do not publish the workbook, modifications to the workbook are invisible to users.

  • To make it visible for the first time, you must use the Save and Publish option.

  • For an existing, published workbook, select Republish to release your saved changes.

Save and publish a workbook

The save and publish action saves your current changes and publishes the workbook.

If publishing approval is required for the workbook's workspace (i.e., the Content Publishing option is selected in the Approval Settings),image you must select an approver, optionally provide a reason for the request, and click Submit Request. The workbook is published only after the request is approved. For more information, see Create and manage a workspace.image

Note
  • You can continue to edit the workbook after submitting an approval request. If you save new changes, the version sent for approval is updated to your latest saved version.

  • Workspace administrators can publish workbooks without requiring approval.

Save as

To save a copy of the workbook, follow the steps shown in the figure.

image.png

Unpublish a workbook

You can unpublish a workbook. After the workbook is unpublished, it is invisible to users.

  1. Open a published workbook.

  2. On the workbook editing page, click the 更多操作 icon and select Unpublish.image.png

  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click OK.

Restore a previous version

If you have unpublished changes saved to a workbook, you can select Restore to revert it to the last published version.

  1. Open a published workbook.

  2. Make your changes and save the workbook.

    The workbook is now in the Saved and Unpublished state.
  3. On the workbook editing page, click the 更多操作 icon and select Restore.image

    Note

    Quick BI retains a maximum of 5 of the most recent published versions and 15 most recent saved versions from the last three months.

  4. In the confirmation dialog box, click OK.

Republish a workbook

After you update a published workbook, you can republish the workbook to make your changes visible to all viewers.image.png

After you update a published workbook and click Save, an update prompt appears on the edit page. You can then click Save and Publish to republish the workbook.image.png

If the workspace requires publishing approval (i.e., the Content Publishing option is selected in the Approval Settings),image every republish action triggers the approval workflow. The changes are published only after the request is approved. For more information, see Create and manage a workspace.

image

Note
  • You can continue to edit the workbook after submitting an approval request. If you save new changes, the version sent for approval is updated to your latest saved version.

  • Workspace administrators can publish workbooks without requiring approval.