Delete a backup set
Each time a Data Disaster Recovery (DBS) backup plan runs, it generates a backup set. This topic describes how to manually delete backup sets from the console to reduce your storage costs.
Prerequisites
The backup plan must contain more than three full backup sets.
You cannot delete backup sets if this prerequisite is not met.
Limitations
You can only delete one backup set at a time.
You can only delete full backup sets.
To ensure data continuity for recovery, you can only delete the oldest backup set.
Procedure
Log in to Data Management DMS 5.0.
-
In the top navigation bar, choose .
NoteIf you use the DMS console in simple mode, move the pointer over the
icon in the upper-left corner of the DMS console and choose . Click the target backup plan. In the left-side navigation pane, click .
Find the target backup set and click Delete Backup Set in its row.

In the dialog box that appears, click OK.
WarningDeleted backup sets cannot be restored. Proceed with caution.
Related operations
For large amounts of data, you can purchase a subscription-based DBS storage plan to reduce your backup storage costs. These plans are more cost-effective than pay-as-you-go.
You can configure lifecycle rules so that Data Disaster Recovery (DBS) automatically archives and deletes expired backup sets based on your custom rules. For more information, see Manage lifecycles.