The snapshot instant access feature lets you use a snapshot seconds after it is created, without waiting for it to be fully uploaded to OSS.
How it works
With the snapshot instant access feature, you can do the following before a snapshot is fully uploaded to OSS:
In the snapshot list, the snapshot is marked as Available in the Progress column, and the upload status shows Upload to OSS: 1%.
-
When you create a new disk from an in-progress snapshot, you can only create ESSD series disks (ESSD, ESSD AutoPL, ESSD Entry, and ESSD zone-redundant).
-
If the availability zone of the source disk fails, the snapshot instant access feature may become unavailable, preventing you from using the snapshot to create disks or roll back the source disk.
Billing
The snapshot instant access feature is free of charge. After you create a snapshot, Alibaba Cloud charges a storage fee in each region based on the snapshot size and retention period. For more information about snapshot billing, see Snapshots.
Limitations
-
The snapshot instant access feature is supported only for ESSD series disks (ESSD, ESSD AutoPL, ESSD Entry, and ESSD zone-redundant).
-
For ESSD series disks, snapshot instant access is enabled by default when you create a snapshot. You cannot manually enable or disable the feature.
-
Snapshot instant access is enabled by default for new snapshots, shared snapshots, and snapshots managed by other cloud services, such as snapshots created by Cloud Backup. This feature is not supported for copied snapshots or snapshots created from images.
Use instant access
When you create a snapshot for an ESSD series disk, the Instant Access parameter is enabled by default. No manual configuration is required, and the feature cannot be disabled. For more information about how to create a snapshot, see Create a manual snapshot.
Once a snapshot is created with Instant Access enabled, you can immediately use it to roll back or create a disk at no extra cost.
If you are using legacy instant access snapshots, you can call the ModifySnapshotAttribute operation and set the DisableInstantAccess parameter to disable the snapshot instant access feature.
Legacy vs. new instant access snapshots
The snapshot instant access feature was upgraded at 11:00 on October 12, 2023. For more information, see the official announcement. The following table describes the differences between the legacy and new versions of instant access snapshots.
|
Item |
Legacy version |
New version |
|
Version timeline |
Before 11:00 on October 12, 2023 |
At or after 11:00 on October 12, 2023 |
|
Instant access status |
The snapshot list displays an expiration time for instant access, such as Expires on YYYY-MM-DD HH:mm. Note
Existing legacy instant access snapshots can still be used. The snapshot instant access feature is automatically disabled upon expiration. |
In the snapshot list, the status of snapshot instant access is Enabled. |
|
Billing |
|
Free of charge in all regions. |
|
Snapshot type |
Only manual snapshots are supported. |
Both manual and automatic snapshots are supported. |
|
How to enable |
Manually enabled during snapshot creation. |
Enabled by default during snapshot creation. |
|
How to disable |
To disable snapshot instant access, call the ModifySnapshotAttribute operation and set the |
Cannot be disabled. |
|
Re-initializing a disk that has an instant access snapshot |
Not supported. Note
To re-initialize the disk, you must first call the ModifySnapshotAttribute operation to disable the snapshot's instant access feature. For more information, see Re-initialize a disk. |
Supported. |
|
Maximum number of instant access snapshots per disk |
10 |
The same as the maximum number of snapshots allowed per disk. For more information, see Snapshots overview. |