Release resources and deactivate services
This topic describes how to release MaxCompute resources by deleting projects and how to deactivate services by unsubscribing from quotas.
Resource release
You can release MaxCompute resources in one of two ways:
Manual release: You can delete a project in the MaxCompute console. For more information, see Delete a table or a MaxCompute project. After the project is deleted, its resources are released, all data is permanently lost, and the project no longer incurs fees.
Automatic reclaim: Resources are automatically reclaimed because of overdue payments, subscription expiration, or online refunds for subscription instances. If you have an overdue payment and do not top up your Alibaba Cloud account balance within 15 days, the system reclaims the MaxCompute resources after this 15-day period. This means the MaxCompute project is deleted and its data cannot be recovered. If you request a refund for a subscription order, the resources are released immediately and cannot be recovered.
If your MaxCompute service is in the China (Beijing), China (Hangzhou), China (Shanghai), China (Shenzhen), China (Chengdu), China (Zhangjiakou), or China (Ulanqab) region, you can use your Alibaba Cloud account or a Resource Access Management (RAM) user that has the AliyunMaxComputeFullAccess policy to go to the Project Management page. On this page, you can check the project list for related projects. If a message indicates that the service is not activated, the resources have been released and the service has been deactivated.
After a project is deleted, its data is immediately and permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
Service deactivation
On the MaxCompute console Overview page, you can deactivate pay-as-you-go services, subscription services, or resource plans.
Deactivate a pay-as-you-go service
No fees are incurred for a pay-as-you-go service if you do not download data, store data (the MaxCompute project is empty), or run computing jobs.
You do not need to deactivate a pay-as-you-go service that you no longer use. You can simply back up your data and then release the MaxCompute resources to immediately stop billing.
If you are concerned about future charges, you can also follow the steps below to deactivate the service.
Unsubscription procedure
Before you deactivate the pay-as-you-go service, ensure the following:
For the pay-as-you-go Standard Edition: Ensure that no projects or other quotas, such as subscription or pay-as-you-go off-peak resources, exist in the region.
For the pay-as-you-go Off-peak Edition: Ensure that the computing quota is not associated with any projects.
Log on to the MaxCompute console, and select a region in the upper-left corner.
In the navigation pane on the left, click Overview.
In the Actions column for the target paid instance, click
> Unsubscribe. In the dialog box that appears, click OK.After the service is deactivated, you can activate it again if needed.
Deactivate a subscription service
After you activate a subscription service, you can request a refund and unregister the service using the self-service refund feature. For more information about how to request a refund, see Unsubscription rules. Alternatively, you can follow the steps in Unsubscription operation to unsubscribe on the Overview page of the console.
Impact of deactivation
When you deactivate a subscription service, the impact on your projects depends on whether you have also activated the pay-as-you-go Standard Edition service in the same region. The details are as follows:
Activated services in the destination region | Default compute resource of the project | Impact of deactivating the subscription service | Action |
Only the subscription service is activated | Subscription service |
| If you confirm that you no longer need the project, you can delete it. |
Both subscription and pay-as-you-go Standard Edition services are activated | Subscription service |
| Before you deactivate the service, you must switch the default compute resource of the project to a pay-as-you-go resource or the compute resource of another instance. For more information about how to switch between billing methods, see Switch between billing methods. |
Deactivate a resource plan
Resource plans support self-service refunds. You can deactivate a resource plan on the Unsubscription Management page in the Expenses and Costs console. On the Unsubscribe Resource tab, click the Resource Plans tab and select the resource plan that you want to deactivate.
Alternatively, you can follow the procedure on the Overview page of the console to deactivate the service.
For more information about resource plans, see Computing and storage resource plans.
For more information about deactivation rules, see Unsubscription rules.
References
For answers to frequently asked questions about billing, see FAQ about billing.