Select a workspace mode

Updated at:

To enhance secure collaboration within a workspace, Quick BI introduces two workspace modes: cooperative mode and private mode. In cooperative mode, users can see all works in the workspace. In private mode, users can only see works they have permission to access. This topic helps you select the right workspace mode.

Prerequisites

You have created a workspace. For more information, see Create and manage a workspace.

Background

In Quick BI, you can divide an organization into workspaces where all members can create works.

Before version 4.1, all works created in a workspace were visible to every member in the workspace by default. To enable more secure collaboration, Quick BI now provides two workspace modes:

  • If you set workspace mode to cooperative mode, you can view all works and their containing folders in the list of works within the workspace.

    Figure 1. Works list for a configuration userimage.png

    Figure 2. Works list for an operatorimage.png

  • If you set Workspace Mode to Private Mode, users can only see the works they have permissions for in the workspace's list of works. They cannot see works they lack permissions for or the folders that contain those works.

    Figure 3. Works list for a configuration userimage.png

    Figure 4. Works list for an operatorimage.png

Note

Works include data portals, dashboards, spreadsheets, ad hoc analysis, self-service data retrieval, and data entry.

Workspaces created before Quick BI v4.1 default to cooperative mode. If you want works to be visible only to users with specific permissions, you need to modify the workspace mode. For an example of how works and permissions behave in private mode, see Example: Private mode in action.

Workspace modes

The following tables describe how works and folders are displayed in the works list in each workspace mode.

  • For works and folders created before version 4.1:

    Type

    Private mode

    Cooperative mode

    Works

    The works list shows only the works a user has permission to view. All other works are hidden.

    Note

    This action does not change the underlying permissions of the works.

    All works remain visible to all users in the workspace.

    Folder

    Folders cannot be directly assigned permissions. Folder visibility depends on the permissions of the works inside them:

    • If a user has permission for any work within a folder, the folder is visible in their works list.

    • If a user has no permission for any work within a folder, the folder is hidden from their works list.

    The visibility of folders in the works list is not changed.

    All non-empty folders remain visible to all users in the workspace.

  • For works and folders created in version 4.1 and later:

    We do not recommend switching the workspace mode after it is set. We recommend choosing a workspace mode when you create it. Changing the mode later can cause unexpected changes in work ownership and visibility.

    Type

    Private mode

    Cooperative mode

    Works

    Newly created works are hidden from users' works lists by default.

    Newly created works are visible in all users' works lists by default, regardless of their permissions.

    Folder

    Newly created folders are hidden from users' works lists by default:

    • If a user has permission for any work within a folder, the folder becomes visible in their works list.

    • If a user has no permission for any work within a folder, the folder remains hidden.

    Newly created folders are visible in every user's works list by default.

Modify a workspace mode

Log on to the Quick BI console and use one of the following entry points to modify the workspace mode.

  • Entry point 1: An organization administrator can modify the workspace mode from the organization management page.image

  • Entry point 2: A workspace administrator can access the settings from the workbench.image

The mode you choose determines the default visibility of new works in the workspace:

  • If you want the work to appear in everyone's list by default, regardless of permissions, set Workspace Mode to Cooperative Mode.

  • If you want a work to be visible only to authorized users, set Workspace Mode to Private Mode. You can also set the Scope to Data Works Only (which includes data analysis works such as dashboards, spreadsheets, and data visualization screens) or All Resources (which includes data works and other resources such as uploaded files and datasets).

Example: Private mode

The following images show a side-by-side comparison of the configuration page (left) and the user access page (right) to demonstrate how private mode works.

  • Create a folder

    A folder is not visible to a user if it is empty or if the user has no permission for any works within it. The folder becomes visible only after the user is granted permission to at least one work inside.

    24.gif

  • Make public or share with users

    • Configure workspace parametersimage

    • Example entry pointimage.png

Usage notes

  • In private mode, newly created folders are hidden from users' works lists by default.

    • If a user has permission for any work within a folder, the folder is visible in their works list.

    • If a user has no permission for any work within a folder, the folder remains hidden.

  • In cooperative mode, newly created folders are visible in users' works lists by default. All non-empty folders remain visible to all users in this mode, regardless of their individual permissions.